In 2005, new legislation requiring boat operators to take a boater safety education course in order to operate a boat in Washington State was signed into law by Governor Christine Gregoire. The law will have a phased-in period for compliance.
As of January 1, 2011, all boaters 35 years of age or younger are required to have their Boater Education Card with them while they operate a vessel.
Operators without a Boater Education Card may operate a boat provided they are under the supervision of an adult with a Boater Education Card.
Purchasers of new and used boats may operate their boats immediately and have 60 days from the purchase date to obtain a Boater Education Card, so long as they are carrying the notarized Bill of Sale or vessel registration document. Boater Education Cards issued by other states will be recognized in Washington.
The Lake Stevens Police Department Boating Safety Officers will be teaching the Adventures in Boating class prior to the opening of 2010 Boating Season in Washington State.
This class fulfills all of the requirements needed to obtain a Boater Education Card. The cost of the class is $15, which includes the Adventures in Boating book and testing materials.
The participant is required to pass the written test and then pay the $10 Washington State fee for the Boater Education Card.
The class will be held on March 12, 2011.
The class times will be 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. The location of the class will be at the Lake Stevens Educational Service Center at 12309 22nd St. NE, Lake Stevens.
If you are interested in taking this class or putting your name on an interest list for additional classes, please call the Lake Stevens Police Department at 425-334-9537 to reserve your spot. The class size is limited to 30 participants, so sign up early.