Lake Stevens Journal - Your hometown newspaper since 1960


GFSD Spring Sports Awards


July 6, 2010

Spring sports awards were presented at team banquets held the end of May and early June.

The Washington Interscholastic Activities Association honored girls track team with the Outstanding Academic Achievement award for a team GPA of 3.5 or higher and the varsity and JV girls tennis teams, varsity and JV softball teams, and the varsity boys soccer team with the Distinguished Academic award for a team GPA of 3.0 to 3.49.

The GFHS softball team qualified for the state tournament and track athletes Ericka Smith and Rhiannon Alexander placed sixth in the javelin and twelfth in the 3200 meters respectively at state.

Another highlight was softball coach Candi Reeves named as the Cascade Conference Coach of the Year.

Individual awards were presented to:

Track: Coaches Award Tia Cervarich and Ben Mow; Inspirational Brittany McGinnis, Paige Barger, and JJ Campbell; Captain JJ Campbell; Most Improved Tia Cervarich and Jarad Olander; Cascade Conference Second Team Ben Sheppard; Sixth in State (javelin) Ericka Smith; Twelfth in State (3200) Rhiannon Alexander; Lettermen Rhiannon Alexander, Tia Cervarich, Courteney Loesche, Brittany McGinnis, Rachel Mow, Amanda Peters, Ericka Smith, Courtney Young, JJ Campbell, Andrew Jackson, Shoen Jackson, Brandon Leitzke, Ben Mow, Ryan Nash, Ben Sheppard, Daniel Scheiene, and Addison Buchholz; Certificate of Participation Patrick Aguilar, Jimmy Bruton, Tyler Hart, Jesse Littlelight, Jarad Olander, Tanner Peep, Daniel Sturgeon, Dakota Thomas, Jamie Alexander, Paige Barger, Keona Eadie, Molly Meier, Jessika Montgomery, Tessa Romack, and Hannah Schneiders.

Baseball: Coaches Award Jared Walls; Inspirational Zach Jones; Captains Max Whitt and Zach Jones; Most Improved Mitch Byron; Cascade Conference First Team Max Whitt; Four Year Letterman Max Whitt; Lettermen Alex Cashman, Chad Major, Zach Jones, Jared Walls, Andrew Millican, Ryan Teter, Mitch Byron, Colton Patterson, Kyle Glover, Jeff Benson, Josh Weaver, Drew Benson, James Barnard, Xavier Denke, Tyler Hamilton; Certificate of Participation Ben Clark, Zack Johns, Austin Berg, Sean Brister, Thomas Eadie, Travis Hardy, Zane Harper, Zack McSweeney, Quinton Woolman-Morgan.

Boys Soccer: Coaches Award Paul Gumke; Inspirational Brandon Gilbertson and Paul Gumke; Captains Timur Gulyayev and Steven Moseley; Most Improved Robby Collinge; Cascade Conference First Team Paul Gumke; Four Year Letterman Paul Gumke; Lettermen Brynden Cassady, Robby Collinge, Adrian Galle, Brandon Gilbertson, Timur Gulyayev, Jacob Hargraves, Samuel Martinez, Maika Matalomani, Steven Moseley, Johathan Short, Levi Whittaker, and Marshall Zenk; Certificate of Participation Mike Feaster, Ryan Murphy, Arm Tantawee, Timmy Whittaker, Mitch Wilson, and Nathan Woldstad; Managers Jessica Cashman and Mike Hills.

Girls Tennis: Coaches Award Marissa Ogren; Inspirational Marissa Ogren; Captain Katie Christensen; Most Improved Sara Rood and Rylie Moore (doubles) and Becky Gilbertson (singles); Cascade Conference First Team Paul Gumke; Lettermen Katie Chiristensen, Emma Wysocki, Becky Gilbertson, Maia Hanson, Breanna White, Marissa Ogren, Rylie Moore, Sara Rood, Bailey Ainley, Saskia Ax, Courtney Maxfield, Chelsea Wold, Mikayla Clemence, and Kylee Gray; Certificate of Participation Bailey Green, Sam Irons, Kaylyn Johnson, Cassie Prouty, Kelsey Sytsma, Chelsea Watson, Andrea Aja-Alvarez, Viviana Aquino, Lauren Brough, Katelyn Campbell, Chrysogene Dolan, Reanna Emborg, Dagmar Mastrude, Heather Evans, Andi Gibson, Sarah Hughes, Manuela Montenegro, Sierra Murdoch, Hanna Nilsson, Annika Quint, Giovanna Santos, Sierra Thomas, Jolene Villines, Kelsy Wesson, Mickenzi Wise, and Brittany Young; Manager Kacie Hillery.

Softball: Coaches Award Aly Silveira; Inspirational Peyton Spencer and (JV) Nicole Wesala; Captains Sarah Niklason-Engstrom, Chelaina Crews, and Alyssa Arndt; Most Improved Emily Walbon and (JV) Miranda Meier; MVP Alyssa Arndt and (JV) Jordyn Gentry; Cascade Conference MVP Offense Sarah Hensley; Cascade Conference MVP Defense Alyssa Arndt; Cascade Conference First Team Peyton Spencer and Caitlyn Munce; Cascade League Second Team Alicia Amundson and Logan Thomas; Cascade Conference Coach of the Year Candi Reeves; All Area Second Team Alyssa Arndt and Sarah Hensley; Four Year Letterman Alyssa Arndt, Chelaina Crews, and Sarah Hensley; Lettermen Peyton Spencer, Sarah Niklason-Engstrom, Caitlyn Munce, Emily Walbon, Alicia Amundson, Logan Thomas, Aly Silveira, Cacia Stevens, Jessica Mueller, and Chelsea Myntti; Certificate of Participation Courtney Conaway, Lacey Downs, Jordyn Gentry, Kaila Green, Katrina Kakalecik, Miranda Meier, Emily Schneiders, Michelle Shirey, Ashley Sytsma, and Nicole Wesala; Manager Elizabeth Matalomani.


Reader Comments