April 2, 2012 |

GFSD announces Winter sports awards; Jenkins takes seventh in state

Winter sports awards were presented at team banquets held the end of February and early in March. The girls varsity and JV basketball teams earned the Washington Interscholastic Activities Association (WIAA) Distinguished award for a team GPA of 3.0 or above. The girls and boys basketball teams played in post season tournaments, seven student-athletes participated in the state Wrestling tournament, and Shawn Madigan was named the Everett Herald Boys Basketball Player of the Week and senior Chris Jenkins took seventh place in the state in the 106 pound weight class. Cascade Conference honors went to: Shawn Madigan, Trey Hitchcock, Riley Larsen, Peyton Spencer, and Rhiannon Alexander.

Individual awards were presented to:

Cheerleading: Most Inspirational-Bailey Ainley; Best Dancer-Maikiya Eide-Brese; Most Encouraging Sabrina McLaughlin; Best Showmanship Miranda Meier; Most Reliable Kelsey Loth; Coach’s Award Kelsey Loth; Captain Kelsey Loth; Four Year Letterman Kelsey Loth; Lettermen Bailey Ainley, Maikiya Eide-Brese, Miranda Meier, Sabrina McLaughlin, Cassie Prouty, and Courtney Conaway.

Wrestling: MVP Chris Jenkins; Inspirational Moses Sun; Captains Chris Jenkins and Josh Short; Most Improved Josh Myers-Dean; Rookie of the Year Logan Corbin; Four Year Lettermen Andrew Jackson, Chris Jenkins, and Josh Short; Lettermen Tysen Campbell, Logan Corbin, Danielle Crawford, Tristin Daniels, Tommy Eadie, Adam Gibson, Tyler Groff, Riley Hansen, Jesse Hills, Tristin Larsen, Josh Myers-Dean, Ryan Nash, Jared Olander, Michael Poyner, Justin Ray, Ethan Short, and Moses Sun; Certificate of Participation Mike Lemke, Jesse Littlelight, Riley Repenn, Brenden Sanders, Hailey Teter, Nathan Woldstad, and Daniel Sturgeon; Manager Kelsey Loth.

Boys Basketball: Coaches Award Evan West; Inspirational Shawn Madigan; Captains Shawn Madigan and Trey Hitchcock; Most Improved Josh VanBeek; Cascade Conference First Team Shawn Madigan, Second Team Trey Hitchcock, and Honorable Mention Riley Larsen; Lettermen Shawn Madigan, Trey Hitchcock, Josh VanBeek, Jeff Benson, Drew Benson, Brandon Leitzke, Evan West, Riley Larsen, Karl Spencer, and Jarek Hitchcock; Certificate of Participation Alex O’Neal, Dan Matalomani, Nick Elvrom, Steven Hyvari, Nick Osborne, Kai Orthmeyer, Taylor Fahrenkrug, Rhys Gadbois, Joe Barnett, and Bryan Beard; Manager Luis Torres.

Girls Basketball: Coaches Award Paige Barger and (JV) Chryssy Dolan; Inspirational Amberly Drudge and (JV) Caitlyn Munce; Most Improved Courtney Young and (JV) Mikayla Engstrom; Cascade Conference First Team Peyton Spencer and Second Team Rhiannon Alexander; Four Year Lettermen Peyton Spencer and Jamie Alexander; Lettermen Breanna White, Rhiannon Alexander, Emily Schneiders, Amberly Drudge, Courtney Young, Elizabeth Matalomani, Amanda Peters, and Paige Barger; Certificate of Participation Kimberly Martinez, Mikayla Engstrom, Caitlyn Munce, Racheal Joplin, Cortney Manimtim, Annie Hart, Jolene Villines, Chryssy Dolan, Makenzie McLaughlin, Maryn Goms, and Caitlinn Santiesteban; Managers Kelsie Sytsma and Lacey Romack.

Reader Comments