Lake Stevens Journal - Your hometown newspaper since 1960


Redistricting Commission publishes final map


June 18, 2012

The new 2012 congressional and legislative districts map is now available. The map, designed to be user friendly and informative, will serve the state of Washington until the next redistricting cycle in 2021. In addition to the state and federal district boundaries, the map includes inserts of Puget Sound and eight other urban areas, an index of cities and districts, and an educational overview of Washington’s redistricting history and commission process. The map is available from the Washington Redistricting Commission at We encourage the public to visit for more detailed maps and data, and to use the district finder feature located there.

The final map is the product of the Redistricting Commission’s efforts, which included 18 public forums and 29 public meetings. Citizens were encouraged to provide feedback during the entire redistricting process through interactive webcasts, email, letters, and over the phone. Commissioners heard from more than 1,500 individuals during the past year.

On January 1, 2012, the four voting members of the Washington State Redistricting Commission unanimously approved the final version of the Washington State Redistricting Plan. Engrossed House Concurrent Resolution 4409 was signed into law on February 7 making technical changes to the final redistricting plan approved by the Commission.

To request a free printed copy of the map, please visit

In 1983, Washington voters established the Washington State Redistricting Commission to ensure voting boundaries are established through a fair and bipartisan process. The Commission includes two Redistricting Commission publishes final map 12-002.

Democrats and two Republicans as voting members and a non-voting, nonpartisan chair. Lura Powell, from Richland, serves as the Commission chair. Democratic appointees to the Commission are Tim Ceis (Senate), Seattle; and Dean Foster (House), Olympia. Republican members are former U.S. Sen. Slade Gorton (Senate), Bellevue; and Tom Huff (House), Gig Harbor.


Reader Comments