Lake Stevens Journal - Your hometown newspaper since 1960


WSSDA announces new officers for 2013


October 29, 2012

Mari Taylor from the Lake Stevens School Board has been elected as the 2013 president-elect of the Washington State School Directors’ Association Board of Directors.

The new vice president will be Chris Nieuwenhuis of the Riverside School Board.

School directors from the state’s 295 school districts cast ballots in September in an on-line election. The election process was conducted by a third-party, independent firm to ensure fairness and accuracy.

The association’s current president-elect, Debra Long, of the Central Valley School District, was elected last year and will take over as president of the association.

Long, Taylor and Nieuwenhuis will assume their new positions at the conclusion of the association’s annual conference in November.

The association’s board also includes its past president, which will be current President Mary Fertakis of the Tukwila School Board. The rest of the board includes 12 representatives from director areas in the state. One third of those representatives are elected each year at the annual conference. The representatives are elected to three-year terms.

The association provides professional development, advocacy, policy, informational and other services to the state’s school boards and 1,477 elected school directors. The WSSDA board oversees and guides the work of the association.

This year’s election was the first to be held online by the association. In the past, the election was held in person during the three-day, November annual conference. The new officers will be introduced and sworn into office at the conference general session November 17.

For more information on WSSDA and its services, visit


Reader Comments