Lake Stevens Journal - Your hometown newspaper since 1960


GFHS announces fall sports award winners


January 7, 2013

Fall sports awards were presented at team banquets held in November. The varsity and JV soccer, varsity and JV volleyball, and cross country teams earned the Washington Interscholastic Activities Association (WIAA) Distinguished award for a team GPA of 3.0 or above.

In addition, Kyle Everett was named the Everett Herald Athlete of the Week, the girls soccer team participated in post season play, and cross country runner Rachel Mow placed in the top third at the state cross country meet placing 47th out of 141 runners.

Individual awards were presented to:

Cross Country

MVP’s Ryan Nash and Rachel Mow; Rookie of the Year Dante Gadbois and Emily Schneiders; Most Reliable Jarad Olander and Rachel Mow; Inspirational Devin Pierce and Rachel Mow; Captains Ryan Nash and Rachel Mow; Most Improved Devin Pierce and Kenna Todd; Cascade All League Second Team Rachel Mow and Ryan Nash; Four Year Lettermen Addison Buchholz, Ryan Nash, and Rachel Mow; Lettermen Adam Gibson, Logan Corbin, Dante Gadbois, Riley Hansen, Tristin Larsen, Ricky Mueller, Josh Myers-Dean, Jarad Olander, Devin Peierce, Ethan Short, KC Spencer, Mandi Cook, Shania Klinnert, Mckenzie Meyer, Emily Rice, Sadie Woolman-Morgan, Emily Schneiders, Chris Cervavich, and Jon Smith; Certificate of Participation Alliver Buchholz, Tristin Daniels, Tyler Groff, Jesse Littlelight, Brenden Sanders, Aakash Sethi, Nathan Woldstad, Maddie Miller, Pooja Sethi, Kenna Todd, and Syrena West.


MVP Rhiannon Alexander and Courteney Loesche; Coaches Award Courtney Young and Kaila Green; Inspirational Mikayla Engstrom; Captains Kaila Green, Courteney Loesche, Courtney Young; Captains Choice Winter Wirkkala and Annie Hart; Most Improved Marissa Hutchinson and Kendall Stewart; Cascade All League First Team Courteney Loesche and Rhiannon Alexander; Cascade All League Second Tem Kaila Green and Courtney Young; Four Year Lettermen Kelsey Arndt, Megan Davis, Kaila Green, Courteney Loesche, and Courtney Young; Lettermen Rhiannon Alexander, Kelsey Arndt, Kelsey Bechtoldt, Cierra Briggs, Mikayla Engstrom, Lauren Galloway, Laura Gilbertson, Annie Hart, Marissa Hutchinson, Chelsea Myntti, Kendall Stewart, Hailey Teter, and Winter Wirkkala; Certifcate of Participation Madison Anthony, Micaelah Baker, Bailey Brown, Abigail Burk, Brianna Cervarich, Danielle Crawford, Maryn Goms, Katelyn Gresli, Samantha Hagan, Natalie McAuliffe, Desiree Mayer, Lauren Potter, Laura Rachal, Myah Rholdes, Zena Smith, and Rebecca Van Tassell; Manager Brittany Young.


Coaches Award Tanner Peep and Michael Strickland; Inspirational DJ Webb; Captain Tanner Peep; Most Improved Tysen Campbell; Cascade All League Second Team Trae Poplin and Tanner Peep; Lettermen Kale DeCamp, Jr. Russell, DJ Webb, Drew Benson, Michael Poyner, Tim Lindell, Drake Sanders, Mathew Hamilton, Tanner Peep, Brandon Leitzke, Michael Strickland, Kyle Everett, Tommy Eadie, Tysen Campbell, Alex O’Neill, Bryan Beard, Trae Poplin; Certificate of Participation Greg Barnett, Doug Adams, Riley Mcfall, Trenton Poplin, Jacob Bates, Keifer Hoffman, Griffin Chapman, Tucker Zachary, Michael Green, Dan Lawlis, Teo Reyes, and Justin Johnson.


Coaches Award Nicole Wesala and (JV) Makenzie McLaughlin and Lacey Downs; Inspirational Ashtyn Froland and (JV) Alicia Ogren; Captain Delaney Watson and Ashtyn Froland; Most Improved Tessa Montgomery and (JV) Angie Camacho; Lettermen Kayla Mathis, Miranda Prausa, Tessa Montgomery, Hailey Arndt, Ashtyn Froland, Kimmy Martinez, Delaney Watson, Kelsie Brown, Nicole Wesala, Kailey Larsen; Certificate of Participation Alicia Ogren, Emily Hodges, Lacey Down, Chloe Downs, Kalie Lopez, Cheyenne Wesala, Ari Wyatt, Angie Camacho, Cortney Manimtim, Makenzie McLaughlin, Jordan Laney, Savannah Dumas.


Reader Comments