Lake Stevens Journal - Your hometown newspaper since 1960

 

L.S. offers two locations for new driver’s testing

 

February 5, 2013



JOURNAL STAFF

Washington state law changed on December 1, 2012 and now allows private driving and public schools that offer driver’s education and training to administer both the written and driving tests for new drivers.

“The only Department of Licensing office that now offers the test is the Lynnwood office. Smokey Point and Everett are no longer doing testing and they will refer you to Lake Stevens High School or Defensive Driving School,” Rodger Anderson Lake Stevens High School Traffic Safety Coordinator said.

Lake Stevens High School is only testing people 18 years old or younger at this time however they do not have to be a student at the school or have taken their driver’s education courses there either.

The cost for these tests are $20 for students registered for their driving class and $35 for those who did not take their class at the High School.

“That fee covers two attempts at the knowledge test and two attempts at the drive test,” Anderson said.

Defensive Driving in Lake Stevens also offers both the written and driving portion of the tests now.

“To take the written test they can pop in anytime we have office hours,” Larry Pierce, owner of Defensive Driving said. “The driving test we can do by appointment only and there is a fee for both tests.”

At Defensive driving they will charge $35 for two tries on their written test, however, if you are a student at the school the written test is included. For driving test you have the option of using your own vehicle for $40 or their vehicle for $50. If you are a student at the school the cost is $40 whether you use your own car or theirs.

Washington State Department of Licensing tells you how to choose a good driver training program:

• Make sure the instructors and the schools are licensed. Schools are required to display certificates for each instructor, and each instructor must carry a wallet certificate.

• Compare the school’s curriculum with the state curriculum requirements.

• Look for instructor-led classroom instruction that makes appropriate use of videos and visual aids.

• Make sure the school has enough instructors to meet the students’ needs.

Ask how the school will keep records of attendance and behind-the-wheel lessons. Request a copy so you can confirm the training.

 

Reader Comments

(0)